SharePoint Survery Workflow “failed to start”

What the hell is this!?

I’m building a workflow to be started after a user responds to a survey and I keep getting an error “failed to start”  in the workflow column in the ‘All Responses’ view. Thinking it was one of our apps servers playing up again I tried a simple workflow on a list – I only used a list because they’re a little quicker to create for a test like this… Glad I did use a list because my workflow worked as it should without error.

After Google-ing “sharepoint survey workflow” I found this at Microsoft http://support.microsoft.com/kb/926370. It turns out that you can’t use workflows with surveys!!! So I ask, why the hell can you attach a workflow to a survey in SharePoint Designer!!!

Thanks – I feel better for venting.

Leave a Reply

